The curriculum is based on the AOTA Fellowship Program Learning Objectives (FPLOs). This curriculum ensures congruency between didactic and clinical components for each practice unit.

Clinical locations

Fellows will rotate between clinical specialty areas at University Hospital and East Madison Hospital, which are both located in Madison, Wis.

University Hospital
This is the primary academic hospital of UW Health and offers quaternary care, including:

East Madison Hospital
84-bed surgical and medical center, including:

  • Orthopedics
  • Bariatric surgery
  • General surgery
  • Hernia repair surgery
  • Neuro spine surgery
  • Plastic and reconstructive surgery

UW Health is a designated “LGBTQ+ Healthcare Equality Leader” in the 2022 Healthcare Equality Index and both University Hospital and East Madison Hospital have earned the coveted “Leader” designation.  In addition, UW Health has a commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion.

Areas of focus

  • General care, intermediate care (IMC), and critical care (ICU) levels across all specialty areas except maternity care
  • Emergency Department for early access occupational therapy services
  • Post-acute care unit (PACU) immediately after surgery
  • Operating room (OR) for burn related occupational therapy services

Clinical practice areas

  • Orthopedics
  • Vascular
  • Cardiology and cardiothoracic
  • Burn
  • Trauma
  • Neurology and neurosurgery
  • Otolaryngology (ENT) and plastics
  • Transplant
  • Hematology/Oncology
  • Critical care
  • Components of General Medicine

Contact information

TJ Moodie
Fellowship Coordinator
(608) 228-8230

Recruitment Center
(608) 263-6500